Explorations!

Last night was a big night for Chance; he finally got to leave his bedroom and explore the house!

A little bit of background here: Chance has been confined to one of my guest bedrooms for the past 2 and a half weeks while we made sure he didn’t have any severe illness AND while giving my own two resident cats some time to accept the idea that there’s another cat in the house.

Before I tell you about Chance’s explorations, let me briefly introduce my own two cats, Luna (the tortie) and Buzzy (the orange tabby)!

IMG_1249

They may look adorable, but I promise you…they are full of mischief!

I’ve had Buzzy since he was 4 months old (I got him from a county shelter), and I adopted Luna a little less than 2 years ago from a family who was trying to re-home her on Craigslist. Buzzy is now 6 and a half years old, and Luna is…wow…I guess she’s almost 4 now!

 

Back to Chance! So, one thing I have learned about Chance: he has a LOT to say ALL the time! In fact, he never stopped talking through his entire adventure yesterday. So, imagine, if you will, that Chance is talking to you through his entire tour! Because he was CERTAINLY talking to me!

 

I began by allowing him in my bedroom. I put him up on the bed and there discovered his fear of ceiling fans…

IMG_1283

(Sorry for the blurriness…but he basically looked up at that ceiling fan with TERROR and then ran away!)

I’ll give it to Chance though… he overcame his ceiling fan fear within about 10 minutes.

Anyway, Chance clearly either had no boundaries at his first home or decided that they didn’t apply here! He climbed all over, discovering new and interesting things along the way!

IMG_1295

He also discovered Luna’s favorite hairball gel…and that he doesn’t really like it!

IMG_1296

He discovered the glory that is a cardboard box! Thinking it was closed, he lept up on it… and promptly fell right in!

IMG_1306

And then there was the bathroom…

IMG_1297

What oh what could this thing be??

IMG_1300

You can’t hear it in the picture… but Chance had a LOT to say about the tub! I thought he’d run away, but he actually just sat there and meowed LOUDLY at me! I figured he meant “TURN IT OFF!”

It was time to venture downstairs, and this took Chance quite a while… It took at least 5 minutes for him to come down just 1 stair. He’d come down 1 or 2 stairs, and then run back up! But, finally, after a lot of coaxing and calling…

IMG_1314

One step at a time, Chance came down…

Oh, wait. Nope. There he goes again.

IMG_1318

Ok Ok…eventually he DID come down…talking all the way.

And there were some curious visitors waiting for him at the bottom!

Now, I have to pause here to tell you…my cats have done nothing but hiss and growl at this poor boy through his bedroom door. I wasn’t sure what kind of reaction I was going to get. But, I was sure shocked when THIS happened:

IMG_1319

Hissing and growling shortly followed, but no physical contact… so, we’ll call it a win!

Buzzy was also curious…

IMG_1317

And, at one point, he actually RAN up super fast behind Chance (scared me to death!) to sneak a sniff!

IMG_1325

Eventually, though, I put my 2 cats in the basement as they were just stressing poor Chance out with their hissing.

Chance wandered around meowing for probably a full hour. He was quite the chatterbox. But, he discovered some new things…

IMG_1326

And so did I. I discovered that Chance jumps on top of everything!! haha.

I also have to admit that I was very surprised at just how vocal he was. I had always thought his crying upstairs was because he wanted out of the bedroom, but the truth is that Chance meowed pretty much non-stop the entire time he was out of that room. I’m beginning to suspect he has some bengal or other very vocal breed mixed in… what with that long tail, those WEBBED toes, and this face…

IMG_1293

Who knows?!

2 thoughts on “Explorations!

  1. rememberingniko March 8, 2013 at 11:18 am Reply

    Love him!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

