Highs, Lows, and Tumbles

So sorry that it has taken me over a week to write another blog! Things have been pretty chaotic over here. The past couple of weeks have been filled with highs and lows of all sorts.

First, a Chance update! This little cat is the goofiest of goofballs. He has now climbed all over my house…he likes to go as high as he can.

IMG_1340

Yeah, 3 seconds later, he and that suit case fell off that shelf. Don’t worry, I caught him.

IMG_1346

I’ve also discovered that Chance has a very specific grooming routine. He holds himself to very high standards. You see, Chance likes to come in the shower with me!

And then, he likes to be dried with a bath towel. And have his head brushed with a hairbrush. I wish I had captured pictures of his wet little cat head, but I didn’t. Not yet at least!

He’s a very fastidious groomer. Can’t blame him, though. He has to stay dashing and handsome and all that.

IMG_1347

Now for the major high of the past 2 weeks: Chance got an adoption application! Hooray! He may very well have a new home headed his way 🙂

We decided to take Chance back to the vet because his yowling has not improved. He basically always wanders around crying without pause. It was getting to be pretty overwhelming for me and even for my cats. I think they were rather annoyed by the noise, actually… here’s a peak at what it’s like (please note his lightening-fast speed…he’s at the top of the stairs one moment and, in the next, POOF! cat in my chair… it’s like magic!):

During Chance’s vet check-up, we discovered that he has a heart murmur. The vet graded it at about a 3 or 4 (out of 6), which is pretty bad for a cat so young. We aren’t sure what caused it. They tested him for hyperthyroidism, but the tests came back negative for a thyroid issue.

So, we began to develop a routine. Basically, as long as I wave a wand toy around for Chance, I can sit down and semi-relax in the evenings without him yowling too much. So, yeah, my arm is getting quite the workout. 2 or more hours each evening of toy waving 🙂 The good news is that my own cats are also playing more, and they need it! They’re kind of fat 😉 I even took a big cardboard box and cut some holes in it to make a play fort. Chance loved that!

IMG_1400

Chance and my male cat, Buzzy, have begun to get along better. Chance will groom Buzzy a bit, and Buzzy will play chase with Chance, which they both enjoy. Luna, my tortie, is still not a huge fan, but she tolerates him.

IMG_1402

Back to the highs! We had 2 wonderful adoption events over the past 2 weeks. A local Brownies troop (part of the Girl Scouts lineup) made some really special pillows for our rescue cats! The cats love them!

IMG_1384

IMG_1386

The cats even dressed up for St Patrick’s Day! This is Ms. Lily. Doesn’t she look beautiful in her green bandana?

IMG_1388

(Learn more about Lily by clicking here)

We had a lot of cats get adopted these past 2 weeks, which is fantastic because kitten season is about to begin. In fact, Chance’s kittens are already 3 weeks old! In another month, they’ll be ready for adoption! I can’t wait to meet them 🙂

So, that’s what’s been going on over here in the chaotic kitty house! Hope everyone else has had a great couple of weeks, and we’ll see you again soon!

IMG_1338

One thought on “Highs, Lows, and Tumbles

  1. […] it’s pretty well true), but rather it was because he challenged me in difficult ways. First came the yowling… the constant vocalization. A cat’s meow is adorable for about 10 seconds; after a few hours, […]

Leave a Reply

